Skip to content

New Year reading resolutions

For this New Year, I’m aiming to make more time for reading. Author David Nicholls’ article in the Daily Telegraph  struck a chord with me where he resolved to try and find just half an hour more in his day to read, a habit which he’d got out of.

Nicholls’ own time-sucks are pretty much the same as mine. I’m addicted to trawling news sites, I too have wasted hours following various Twitter feuds and online spats because there is always one going on somewhere, isn’t there?

Perhaps my own biggest time waster is reading the comments below the line on various news sites or blogs- you know the ones – that so enrage me I have to mainline Bach’s Rescue Remedy to regain any sort of composure. I’ve stopped checking Twitter on my phone the minute I wake up and last thing at night before I go to bed and instead have picked up a book. I’m not planning on going cold turkey or anything – but just that half an hour reading instead of being online – has clawed back some time.

Another resolution was to read more books I’ve already got on my shelves rather than buy more (although I’ve already failed on that one but they were bought with book tokens I got for Christmas so that doesn’t count).

So I’m two weeks into the New Year and I’ve read:

Me Before You – Jo Jo Moyes

I can’t think why I didn’t read this last year when everyone was talking about it. Although I pretty much knew what was going to happen, it was so engaging, I devoured it in a couple of sittings. I had seen so many people saying it completely did them in emotionally, I thought I’d be immune to it, being prepared in advance. But I sobbed and sobbed.

The Last Time I Saw You – Eleanor Moran

The Crooked Heart – Helen Dunmore

Dare Me – Megan Abbott

Megan Abbott is a stunning writer. I have a definite girl crush on her. She is brilliant at nailing those coming of age, intense female friendships. The End of Everything was one of my favourite books ever and she’s done it again.

The Other Hand – Chris Cleave

I’m not sure I would have chosen this had it not been chosen for my book group. I have a lot of issues with it and struggled to finish it.

Y – Marjorie Celona

I’ve just started this – it’s was announced at the beginning of the week as one of Waterstones Eleven. So far it’s gripping.

Did you make any reading resolutions this year? How are you doing?

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. Alison – I know what you mean about the comments below news stories. The more of them I read the higher my blood pressure goes! It looks as though you’ve made a nice start to your year of reading. I hope you’ll publish reviews.

    January 17, 2013
  2. Hi

    I too read the David Nicholls article and vowed to do the same. Alas I haven’t managed it yet. I still check Twitter and Facebook on waking and last thing at night. Must try harder as I have Pride & Prejudice to read for this months bookclub and I know I’m going to struggle. I’ve never read any Jane Austen and I loved the Alison Stedman, Colin Firth adaptation so have their faces in my head when I’m reading.

    I LOVED Me before You, I even wrote a blog about it. http://greenie01.wordpress.com/2012/02/28/me-before-you-by-jojo-moyes/

    MBY was my first dip into Jojo Moyes books and I enjoyed it so much I read The Girl you Left Behind soon after.

    Interesting you struggled with The Other Hand, I loved that. His first one Incendiary is awful.

    I read an odd one recently that you may like to look up called My sister lives on the mantelpiece. Despite the subject matter it was quite uplifting, not depressing at all (although it may not be one you would find comfortable reading).

    I also want to finish reading Land of Decoration which I started last year. I got halfway through and left it on a plane by mistake! Now it’s out in paperback I’ll get another copy.

    Our bookclub has just finished The Report http://www.amazon.com/Report-Novel-Jessica-Francis-Kane/dp/B0058M7N7S which was excellent.

    Look forward to reading more of your reviews.
    xx

    January 17, 2013
    • I adored My SIster Lives on the Mantelpiece! We have similar taste. I have the audio version read by David Tennant. Annnabel Pitcher has a new one out – or about to come out – called Ketchup Clouds.

      Haven’t heard of The Report. Will take a look. Yes do get another copy of The Land of Decoration – I’d lend you mine but it’s on loan to someone else!

      Hope you enjoy Pride and Prejudice. I always picture Colin Firth as Darcy.

      January 17, 2013
  3. You seem to have read an awful lot of books with just half an hour more per day! I’m reading ‘Me before you’ at the moment, really enjoying it but struggling to get over a) the cover and b) the author’s name. I know this is utterly ridiculous, but, still… Arghhh. I think it will end in assisted suicide. GOD I HOPE HE DOESN’T LEARN TO NOT BE IN A WHEELCHAIR AND THEY FALL IN LOVE.

    Miss you!

    January 26, 2013
    • I am quite a quick reader! I was put off by the cover too of Me Before You but once I got over that, I was gripped. Besides, on Kindle, you don’t have to look at it that much. The film rights have just been sold – can just see it as a movie.

      Miss you too!

      January 30, 2013
  4. I was put off by the cover of Me Before You as well and only read it as it was heartily recommended by a friend with whom I share very similar reading tastes. What a page turner. I really enjoyed this (if ‘enjoy’ is the word) and was fascinated by the glimpse into living with disability as much as the questions about euphanasia (sp?). I haven’t read any of the others but always like Helen Dunmore so shall definitely have a look at that.

    Alison, I always love your blog so I’ve awarded you a Versatile Bloggers Award. I’d love it if you could find a minute to post in response. You can read about it here: http://jackiebuxton.blogspot.co.uk/

    February 3, 2013
  5. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my website thus
    i came to “return the favor”.I’m attempting to find things to improve my site!I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

    March 8, 2013

Leave a Reply

