Skip to content

The Waiting Game

I hover around the postbox at around 12.30pm. He brings me a Lakeland catalogue, a bill, and a letter from France for the previous owners even though they moved out six years ago.

I refresh my email a dozen times.

I dial 1471 to see if they’ve rung while I’ve been out.  I play old messages – the last one from someone who died a year ago. I leave it on there.

I get a missed call on my mobile from a number I don’t recognise. It’s a mum from nursery inviting my daughter to a party.  

I scroll through Tweetdeck. It’s unlikely they’ll have contacted me that way but I look anyway.

 

What do you do when you’re waiting for news? What are your distraction techniques?

 

 

 

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Alison – Oh, I know so well what you mean by the waiting game. It’s so nerve-wracking isn’t it and you’ve captured it beautifully. What do I do to distract myself? It helps a bit that I have a “day job” so I do keep busy. But when it really gets to me I write – I work on something new. That at least keeps me feeling productive.

    August 3, 2012
    • Thanks Margot. It’s definitely not good for the nerves!

      August 3, 2012

Leave a Reply

