Skip to content

My Top Ten Reads of 2012

These are the books I have most enjoyed this year.

1. The Snow Child – Eowyn Ivey

2. My Policeman – Bethan Roberts

3. Alys Alyways – Harriet Lane

4. Tigers in Red Weather – Liza Klausmann

5. Swimming Studies – Leanne Shapton

6. Penny Hancock – Tideline

7. Falling and Laughing: The Restoration of Grace Collins – Grace Maxwell

8.The Land of Decoration – Grace McCleen

9. The Devil’s Music – Jane Rusbridge

10. The Unfinished Work of Elizabeth D – Nichole Bernier

The book I am most looking forward to in 2013 is Maggie O’Farrell’s Instructions for a Heatwave.

For my own personal writing, 2012 was an odd mix of contrasts. I was totally fired up at the beginning of the year and had a concentrated splurge. I had that joyous, rare thing of an idea coming to me in the street, running to a cafe and it spilling out. I couldn’t write fast enough. I used all the paper I had on me and then I started using whatever else I could find – napkins, receipts. I worked on that idea, foregoing my other one The Make Up Girl, until late Summer.

I entered several competitions, won one, and then had a few knockbacks, a rejection, and then things happened in the family, big life events, and then my writing, but more importantly, my inspiration, petered out. I got eaten up by self doubt. I got a reality check. The characters I had created, who normally wait for me until I’m ready to sit down with them again, seem distant and I can’t hear them.

My resolution is to find some refocus, spend some time on a writing retreat perhaps. But that seems like a huge luxury right now.

What books did you enjoy in 2012? What books are you looking forward to? Have you made any resolutions?

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Alison – I”m very sorry to hear about the knockbacks and other setbacks. That can play havoc with anyone’s inspiration and motivation. I’m glad you’re taking some time to stop and refocus yourself. I wish you a very successful 2013.

    December 28, 2012
    • Thanks Margot. Thank you for continuing to read. I wish you a very Happy 2013 too!

      December 28, 2012
  2. Trish @ Mum's Gone To #

    I seem to have been reading books to review rather than books of my own choosing, until I eventually got round to reading the book we talked about last time with the great title, ‘The Hundred Year Old Man who Climbed out of the Window and Disappeared’ I loved it. Very simple language, a unique story. A cross between Forrest Gump and Voltaire’s Candide.

    Here’s to a successful 2013 when your characters spring back to life and inspire you.

    December 29, 2012

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

