Skip to content

The End is Where I Begin

I’m still here, writing.

I’ve been working on something new, something different. It’s nothing like I’ve ever written before.

The last book I wrote, it started out as one thing and turned into something else. I knew the beginning. I knew the characters. I wrote where it took me, following blindly. until it became about something different.

With this one, I am attempting to plot. I have turquoise Post It’s. I have coloured sticky tape. I have index cards. If I knew how to do an Excel spreadsheet, I would.

Are you a plotter or a meanderer? It doesn’t have to be in fiction.

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. linda #

    Excited that you’re writing! I’m intrigued.

    I once wrote a book-length feature series for the newspaper and I used index cards spread all over the floor to keep characters, chunks of storyline and events organized. I shuffled and rearranged as I planned the narrative in my head. Also, that way, I didn’t forget any little gems of detail I wanted to use.

    June 15, 2012
  2. That sounds amazing. That’s what I’m attempting to do – only it’s pinned to the wall. I stare at it when I’m in bed! It saves me from finding little scraps of paper in my handbag with ‘Her shower cap was too tight and had left a mark on her forehead’ or whatever it was.

    June 15, 2012
  3. Sarah Piazza #

    Good for you! I’m a plotter, too.

    June 26, 2012

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

